UTT Home theme theme theme | Staff Directory| Search | Feedback | myUTT | Contact UTT

News & Announcements

Display Archived Results
May 5, 2010
 Six UTT Records are broken at Stingray Swim Meet
May 3, 2010
 UTT Football Athlete Selected for National Squad
May 1, 2010
 Mongo plans to develop fashion
April 28, 2010
 UTT Animation programme at FWTT(3)
April 27, 2010
 CaHMRI Newsletter 4
April 3, 2010
 Caribbean Fine-Flavoured Cocoa Forum (CFCF) Logo & Tagline Competition
March 31, 2010
 UTT Student tops STLE International Forum
March 31, 2010
 First Citizens Award Won By UTT Post Graduate Student
March 26, 2010
 Rich Media Literacies and the Future of Education
March 25, 2010
 Fitness Assessment
March 22, 2010
 2010 Basketball league Update
March 22, 2010
 Ruptures into Silence
March 22, 2010
 UTT Students Sports Day 2010
March 17, 2010
 Call for Manuscripts
March 17, 2010
 Current Issues in Sociology and Education
March 10, 2010
 Prequalification of Contractors and Suppliers
March 2, 2010
 Quarry Rehabilitation with Special Emphasis on Agriculture
March 2, 2010
 Beyond Registration and Towards Accreditation
February 22, 2010
 Barker shines for UTT
February 21, 2010
 Tony Mason - Groovemaster
February 11, 2010
 100 Quick Wins
February 7, 2010
 UTT Branded Polos now available
February 5, 2010
 CaHMRI Newsletter 3
February 3, 2010
 UTT bests UWI in Energy Debate
January 27, 2010
 UTT- Steering the Way Forward in the Arts
December 14, 2009
 The 2009 Inter University/Campus Netball Champion is SFTI.
December 14, 2009
 Meet with Prof. Gray
December 3, 2009
 Celebrating the Civic Spirit
November 30, 2009
 UTT Volleballers Compete in A-Division National Championships 2009
November 28, 2009
 Soondarsingh retains national title
November 25, 2009
 CaHMRI Newsletter 1
November 16, 2009
 UTT High Performance Cricketer Selected for the Trinidad and Tobago U23 Tour to South Africa
November 16, 2009
 UTT High Performance Rugby Player Captains Trinidad and Tobago Rugby Sevens Team
November 13, 2009
 Classroom video conferencing connects UWRF globally
November 11, 2009
 Annual Report 2007
November 5, 2009
 Congratulations to SPE Student Chapter of the Month - The University of Trinidad and Tobago
November 2, 2009
 New Release: Golconda - Our Voices, Our Lives
October 23, 2009
 H1N1 - The Management of Pandemic Influenza at UTT
October 10, 2009
 UTT High Performance Coaches and Trainers on Course to Optimize the Athlete’s Development With Vern Gambetta
October 8, 2009
 UTT Athletes Perform Well in the THA & TEK Tobago Open Table Tennis Tournament
August 27, 2009
 Student Chapter of the University of Trinidad and Tobago Celebrates Graduation
July 12, 2009
 UTT Re-Registered for three years
May 6, 2009
 UTT Board of Governors member is lead speaker at Oxford Union debate
March 18, 2009
 The Academy at UTT Philharmonic Orchestra
February 4, 2009
 The Great Debaters

Soondarsingh retains national title

Aditi Soondarsingh convincingly retained her title as women's national chess champion, winning all 11 matches in the 11-round round-robin National Championship Tournament which concluded on Sunday at ALGICO Plaza, St. Vincent Street, Port of Spain.

And Marcus Joseph is the new men's national champion.

Soondarsingh, a mechanical engineering student at UTT, first won the coveted title in 2004, then was a joint winner in 2006. She then won it individually in 2007, 2008 and now 2009, becoming the first female to score a hat-trick at the championship, which was revived in 2002 after an absence of 18 years.

The task proved to be a challenging one as she had to fight back after being behind, going into the 'middle game', against her two toughest opponents at the weekend-Camille Chung (9 pts) and Javanna Smith (8.5 pts).

Melissa Pereira placed fourth and Gabriella Johnson fifth.

The five top female players are eligible to represent Trinidad and Tobago at the World Chess Olympiad next year in Russia.

Joseph, the new men's national champ, majoring in mathematics at UWI, snatched the title on the tie-break system from FIDE Master (FM) Ryan Harper, both ending on nine points in the round-robin tournament.

Harper, who was on course to win the championship, lost to national under-14 champ Keron Cabralis last Saturday and won against Marcus Cobham on Sunday, and had to settle for second place.

Joseph won his matches against Leonard Duncan and Kishore Ramadhar.

The only experienced player to survive was Cecil Lee, who won the championship in 1978.

Another young star is Cabralis, who placed third and is the youngest player to have qualified to represent his country at the world chess Olympiad, which is scheduled for September 2010.

Taking fourth place on the tie-break was FM Frank Yee, while former national champion Ravishen Singh finished fifth.

FM Christo Cave, 13 times national champion, came on strong at the end and did not leave empty handed. Cave is the new national blitz champion.

He won the nine-round blitz on the tie-break with eight points, edging out Ravishen Singh into second spot, while FM Mario Merritt took the third prize.

Not to be outdone, Andrew 'Iron Man' Bowles won the TTCA Open tournament with 5.5 points from young Kevin Cupid, with 5.0 points in second place, and Hayden Lee, 5.5 in third.
Trinidad and Tobago Express
Saturday, November 28th 2009